How Do I Find An Article?
- Click on Find Articles and choose the database you want to use. Databases are categorized by type (full text, general, etc.) and subject (Literature, Business, etc.).
- Search databases that contain materials on your research topic (e.g., search PsycInfo if your topic is about Psychology)
- Also search general databases, which contain information about many different subjects. Some good
general databases are:
- Academic Search (some full text)
- ArticleFirst (no full text)
- NewsBank and Newspaper Source (full text newspaper articles)
- In some of the databases, the articles are full text (i.e., you can print
them or email them to yourself).
- If the article is not full text, you'll need to follow three steps to get
- First, check the E-Journals List to see if the article is available online
through one of our other databases. If it is, you can print it. Otherwise, you'll need to
go to the second step.
- Second, search the library catalog to determine:
If it's in the library, you can make a copy of it. Otherwise, you'll need to go to
the third step.
- Is the journal in the OC Library?
- If it is, is the journal on paper, fiche, or film?
- Third, request the article through interlibrary loan; articles requested through interlibrary
loan usually arrive within two weeks and cost $0.10 a page.
- All journals are located on the 3rd floor of the library
- If you have any problems or questions while looking for articles, please contact a librarian by going to the library, calling 425-5312, or using the Ask a Librarian option.